Actor Spotlight – Shayna Lax (Ensemble) in PTIV’s “Spamalot”

Image

Shayna Lax adds to her extensive theater resume by playing many ensemble roles in Spamalot

Shayna Lax is not only an experienced actor who’s spent many years in community theater, but she’s also a huge Monty Python fan – Spamalot is a natural fit! Scroll down to read more about her and the many roles she plays in PTIV’s production.

Q. You’re a member of the Female Ensemble in PTIV’s production of Spamalot, which means you’re playing many characters! How would you describe them? Are any of them like you?
A. Tim the Enchanter is very wise, but nobody ever listens to him until it’s too late. Sounds just like me! As for the Laker Girls, they’re backing up someone sexy and talented: sounds a lot like me too.

Q. What made you come out and audition for Spamalot?
A. I’m a Pythonian from waaaay back. The 16-ton box set [of ‘Monty Python’s Flying Circus’] is the jewel of my DVD collection. Well, that and my signed copy of The Two Towers, extended edition. Yes, yes, I can hear you screaming “NEEEEERRRRDD.”

Q. What’s your favorite song and/or scene in Spamalot?
A. Favorite song has gotta be “You Won’t Succeed on Broadway [If You Don’t Have Any Jews].” Being half Jewish myself, this song has personal meaning. The fact that it’s being sung by one of the most Jewish men I know is a huge bonus.

Q. What’s your favorite Monty Python film?
A. Monty Python and the Meaning of Life. It’s a beautiful capstone to all things Python. And includes a horrifying sex scene with John Cleese.

Q. How long have you been involved in theater? What are some of your other favorite roles?
A. Fifteen years of work, and what do I have to show for it? Fruma Sarah (Fiddler on the Roof), Ulla (The Producers) Martha Jefferson (1776), Lucy (Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street), a Bad Idea Bear (Avenue Q), and Feste (The 12th Night). Hmmm. That’s actually not bad.

Q. Spamalot‘s theme, of course, is “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life.” How do you relate to that?
A. Well, I’m more of a pessimist. As Ben Franklin said, “I’d rather be a pessimist because then I can only be pleasantly surprised.” So, I’m either right or pleasantly surprised. That’s a big bright side!

Q. Tell us a little about your life outside theater.
A. I’m engaged to Galahad (we’ve been dating for 11 years), I’m currently interning at a small law firm, and as for hobbies…I blog, read, work on manuscripts, do an occasional YouTube video, and watch a loooooooooooooooooooooot of horror movies.

Q. Finally…do you eat SPAM?
A. Sorry, not Kosher. Definitely a convenient time to be Jewish!

Pontiac Theatre IV’s production of Spamalot opens November 8th and runs through November 16th. Visit our website or Facebook page for more information, and make sure you check back here for more cast spotlights and show news!

Leave a comment