Actor Spotlight – Tony Castellani as Sir Lancelot in PTIV’s “Spamalot”

Tony smaller

Tony Castellani returns to the stage after a long hiatus in PTIV’s “Spamalot”

Tony Castellani has been a member of the Pontiac Theatre IV family for many years, and the group is thrilled to welcome him back to the stage. Whether he’s playing the fearless knight with a softer side, Sir Lancelot (originally played by John Cleese in Monty Python and the Holy Grail), or the outrageously hilarious French Taunter, he brings his all to his roles. Find out more about Tony in his interview below!

Q. You’re playing Sir Lancelot and the French Taunter in PTIV’s production of Spamalot. How would you describe these characters? Are they anything like you?
A. They are both tons of fun, but neither role is really like me…which I suppose is a good thing…since I’m neither homicidally brave nor do I try to taunt with flatulence and raspberries.

Q. What made you come out and audition for Spamalot?
A. I’m a lifelong fan of Monty Python and I had the great fortune of seeing Spamalot on its pre-Broadway run in Chicago in 2005. I also love the Theatre IV family and I recently moved into the area where we rehearse. The stars aligned and that was that!

Q. What’s your favorite song and/or scene in Spamalot?
A. Favorite scene: the French Taunter scene. Favorite song/dance: “His Name Is Lancelot.”

Q. What’s your favorite Monty Python film?
A. Monty Python and the Holy Grail.

Q. How long have you been involved in theater? What are some of your other favorite roles?
A. I’ve been doing theater most of my adult life. Of a few hundred roles, Riff in West Side Story, Rum Tum Tugger in Cats, Frank-N-Furter in The Rocky Horror Show, Macbeth in Macbeth, and the Emcee in Cabaret are faves.

Q. Spamalot‘s theme, of course, is “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life.” How do you relate to that?
A. Life is about attitude…unless you’re already dead. But if you’re not dead yet…look on the bright side of life!

Q. Tell us a little about your life outside theater.
A. I’m a school counselor, former theater teacher, happy husband, and I love fitness.

Q. Finally…do you eat SPAM?
A. I don’t recall ever having eaten SPAM…but there’s a lot of things I don’t remember.

Pontiac Theatre IV’s production of Spamalot opens November 8th and runs through November 16th. Visit our website or Facebook page for more information, and make sure you check back here for more cast spotlights and show news!

Leave a comment